Good Woman

Fear is a funny thing, isn’t it? One bad experience can change your attitude from excitement tinged with fear to predominately fear. I’m not always sure what I’m afraid of. Failure. Success. Change. Of working too hard. Of not working hard enough.

But I’m also afraid of regret. Afraid that no matter how much the idea of going out of my comfort zone terrifies me, if I stand pat, it’ll be even worse.

Also: it’s not fun to admit to yourself that you could be happier, and you deserve to be happier. Because before those two things can happen, you have to do some scary shit. Easier to tell yourself you’re OK. Even if you’re not. But once the truth tries to break out of your subconscious, it’s harder to stuff it back in. Sometimes it seems like what makes a person content one day can totally be wrong for them the next. It’s like you wake up and realize a phase of your life is over. Or should be.

I’m being very general, perhaps. That’s mostly intentional. So before I get too in depth and brooding, I wanted to post some songs that give me hope and make me want to be….good, I guess. The format the videos take below may vary wildly throughout the night. I may tinker with em and such.

I have the chorus of this as an away message.

From one of my favorite bands.

Some of you may recognize this one.

Saving perhaps the most purely incandescent for last.

What songs make you want to be good?

3 Comments

Filed under Music

3 responses to “Good Woman

  1. This is so funny because

    a. My friends call me Goodwoman
    b. I was just in the streetcar today thinking about what songs make me feel happy and
    c. Was going to blog on that very topic just tonight!

    And I still might, and maybe feeling happy isn’t the same as wanting to be good, but in any event, here are a handful of songs off the top of my head that make me feel good:

    1. Medicine Show, Big Audio Dynamite
    2. Something About You, Level 42
    3. I Feel For You, Chaka Khan
    4. Kiss, Prince
    5. Golden Years, David Bowie

    Must ponder more for my own blog!

  2. Music is a huge, huge factor in my moods. There is a great episode of the Irish sitcom Father Ted in which a suicidal priest is swayed from suicide through the power of the theme from “Shaft”, only to fall back into depression when he hears a Radiohead song on the bus ride home. So fucking true, too.

    I’m with Trix on the Bowie. All Bowie.

    Also, and like Trixie, I need to put more thought into this, but off the top of my head:

    1. Ready for the Floor by Hot Chip
    2. D.A.N.C.E. by Justice
    3. Pump It Up by Elvis Costello
    4. Did You See the Words by Animal Collective

  3. Wow, I have to see that show because music is a HUGE part of my life. Remember that great line from John Cusack in High Fidelity: “Do I listen to pop music because I’m miserable, or am I miserable because I listen to pop music?” That’s one of the profound questions of my life.

    Today getting ready to go spin and sort of cranky about it, “I Can See Clearly Now” started playing on my digital TV music channel thingy and it TOTALLY put me in a motivated, happy mood.

Leave a Reply

