Florida High School Principal No “Pal” of Gays

From stickergiant.com

From stickergiant.com

I saw this article, and it made my heart and head hurt. But what do you expect from the Redneck Riviera?

Florida town backs ex-principal in gay student case

So a girl complains to the principal that she’s being harassed for her sexuality. Principal says too bad, sinner, you’re going to hell. And I’m telling your parents. And stay away from children, sicko!

That this man even has a job is ridiculous. I’ve vacationed in the Panhandle of Florida, near Destin, and while it’s a pretty region, apparently people have some ugly insides. They fall in the “People who I hope get stuck in Heaven’s gay dorm” category.

We are a small, rural district in the Bible Belt with strong Christian beliefs and feel like homosexuality is wrong,” said Steve Griffin, Holmes County’s school superintendent, who keeps a Bible on his desk and framed Scriptures on his office walls.

To the girl, who is never named: I’m so sorry you went through all this. I want to give you a hug and a bus ticket out of there, if you aren’t out of there already. To the mother of another student who contacted the ACLU and successfully sued the district-good for you. People should be able to dress in support of their friend. And I posted that image mainly because I’m sure the principal would hate it.

I’m also sure there are other sane, kind people out there in that area who didn’t speak out (although I’m not sure how many). And uh, at least the girl wasn’t put into a school-mandated camp for homosexuals. As far as I know. But I’m a Cheerleader, anyone?

I grew up in the South, and despite some good things it has going for it, this makes me want to move to a blue state as fast as possible. And if November doesn’t go the way I want it to, take me to Canada, please.

A guy quoted near the end says they aren’t out to “tar and feather” the gays. Right. Classic case of love the sinner, hate the sin, I bet. I guess they don’t feel like loving someone also means respecting them, even if just enough to leave the hell alone. And I love how some people still complain that God is being taken out of schools. This seems close to school-sponsored religion, and it happens in many less extreme cases all over the South, but what can you do? It’s like my high school randomly playing “When I Call on Jesus” at graduation. I didn’t vote on that or any other song, but since I was graduating, I just got the heck out as quick as I could, both literally and figuratively.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

