Everybody wants to be a cat.


AP Photo

I’ve seen a lot of football games in my day, but last night had to be one of the better ones. It was exhausting to watch because it kept going back and forth, back and forth.

I was keeping in touch with my dad throughout, and after the Cowboys kicked a field goal to close the gap to 37-34, he texted me saying he was heading to bed. Understandable, since it was after 10 and he gets up early and honestly, I was pretty tired myself. But even though I was afraid the ‘Boys were screwing themselves over with stupid penalties and no defense, I stayed up. And boy, was I glad I did.

One of my favorite moments came when Felix Jones, an Arkansas alum, ran back a kickoff for 98 yards and a TD. I was hollering at him to “Gogogogogogo!” And he listened, and the whole state of Arkansas went crazy. As someone told me today, “Felix was a man last night!” Indeed. And Jones had a mind-blowing 247 yards on six kick returns. Holy crap. They call him Felix the Cat for a reason. In fact, I’m sort of wishing I had named my male cat Felix. But I would have had to see in the future about three years to pull that off, so oh well.

I plan to watch at least some of it again when NFL Network replays it Wednesday night. I only wish we could have actually gotten inside Texas Stadium during the preseason game (long story there, but basically the guy who was supposed to meet us and give us our tickets was so late and we were so tired and sick from the heat we left). I kept watching the game and being a little disappointed that I’ll never actually get to see the inside of the stadium.

After it was all said and done, I texted my dad the final score. This morning, he texted back: “WOW!”

That pretty much sums it up.

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “Everybody wants to be a cat.

  1. I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again: Man, I love football! I’m mostly a college fan, but the Panthers have pulled off two amazing wins so far, so I’ll be paying attention to them this year (especially since my Wolfpack team sucks so badly).

Leave a Reply

