Blue Book, Red Book

It probably doesn’t mean a heckuva lot, but Amazon has a list of which states are “blue” and which are “red” based on their buying patterns. For instance, if a girl from Missouri buys a Bill O’Reilly book, score one for red. If a guy from Minnesota buys The Audacity of Hope, that’s a blue point. For whatever reason, the “red” book states are “winning” by a lot more. Only five states are considered blue, two are “tied” and the rest are red. The highest percentage of red-state books is in (big surprise) Mississippi. My current state of residence is also in the top five.

There’s also a list of purple books that includes titles like The War Within by Bob Woodward which is at the top of my “Books I Want to Buy” list. I find it fascinating that the more he writes about Bush, the more critical he gets. I last read Plan of Attack, and State of Denial is near the top of my TBR list (it’s a huge list, I honestly have to sell some of my books because I’m drowning in a sea of printed word).

I also want to get The Nine by Jeffrey Toobin and have since it came out in hardback. It’s in paperback now, but I will be waiting until after the election. I figure all the conservative maneuvering is going to make me ill anyway, but I’ll curl up in the fetal position and sob if I read it before the election and think of McCain winning. Of course, if McCain wins, I may not read it at all, because then it’s going to be basically the prologue to a terrifying horror story.

One last recommendation: For Love of Politics by Sally Bedell Smith. If you’re wondering what’s up with the weird symbiotic relationship between Bill and Hillary, this is fascinating stuff. It doesn’t condemn them or say they deserved all the crap thrown at them, but it does leave one with the impression that they could have done so much more. Hillary comes off better than Bill, although neither of them look like saints. It’s written in a more journalistic style rather than a blowhard Bill O’Reilly style, which is one of its greatest strengths.

Speaking of which, Mr. O’Reilly has a new book titled “A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity.” Not sure where the title comes from, but my first thought was, “Really, Bill? Was An Old Stale Piece of Shit already taken?”

Anybody got any recs? Or are you too worn out from the current state of politics to spend your free time reading about it?

1 Comment

Filed under General Crap

One response to “Blue Book, Red Book

  1. This almost makes me want to go on Amazon and order a bunch of “blue books” just to swing the numbers. But honestly, I do suffer from political fatigue, so I keep my reading these days strictly entertainment/literary.

Leave a Reply

