Sex and the City. Fried, covered in gravy, with a side of Coca-Cola.

I saw this story today on Yahoo! and while much of it is pretty intuitive, it’s still interesting.

Going Solo in the USA

The most interesting thing about the article to me is below:

Most southern cities are not flush with single people. Those cities in southern states that have more singles are homes to colleges, where students might choose to remain after graduation, or are known for their nightlife. New Orleans, Austin, and a handful of Florida cities all have more singles than the national average.

In other words, what am I doing living in the South? OK, maybe that’s not fair. I don’t date much, true, but I don’t exactly want to date much. I consider myself to be quirkyalone, which means I don’t want to date just for the sake of dating, among other things. I live alone and like it quite a bit, and think everyone should live alone for at least a little while before they get married or shack up.

But as a young liberal single lady in the South, I’ve noticed that 1) there aren’t a lot of unmarried men my age and 2) there aren’t a lot of progressive unmarried men my age. So it’s a double whammy. There’s a list of most “gender imbalanced” cities, and 6 of the top 10 are in the South (if you think Texas is in the South, which is definitely up for debate), of course. I’m not sure what it is, why there’s such a surplus of single ladies down here. Do all the career-minded single ladies go to the big cities up north and the home-minded ladies marry and stay here? OK, that’s too much of a gross generalization, but maybe it’s’ more like this: there are more Republicans and the South, and perhaps Republicans, especially religious ones, settle down earlier. Dang, now I want to see single stats based on party affiliation. Get on that, Nate Silver. Although I do believe single ladies are more likely to be Democrats and married ladies Republican. Which makes me picture a bride in a long flowing dress hiking down to the courthouse to change her party registration.

I do know that I would like to live in or near a big city in the not-too distant future. By “near,” I mean no farther than 30 minutes away. Not because I think I’ll wander into a sea of liberal lads (ha!), but because there’s more diversity of thought in big cities, and more opportunities to think. There’s just more stuff, damnit.

Any theories on the regional disparity in singles? Is it, as the article suggests, the traditional values crap? Or something else?

Hey, maybe I missed my chance in college. I mean, what’s that saying about going to college to get your MRS? I got my HAG. Oops.

1 Comment

Filed under General Crap

One response to “Sex and the City. Fried, covered in gravy, with a side of Coca-Cola.

  1. I remember when I lived in Raleigh, the city always ended up on those “Top Places for Singles” lists and I was always like, ORLY? I had to remind myself they were measuring quantity, not quality.

Leave a Reply

