Milk and the Lactose-Intolerant

I saw Milk on Friday. And it was definitely better than The Reader, which I saw last month (although Kate Winslet was fabulous in that, as usual).

I can’t decide if Sean Penn is an insufferable prick in real life, but he was excellent in this movie. And James Franco was hot as Penn’s boyfriend.

The ending was a gut punch, but I knew it would be, in no small part because you find out in the first few frames that Milk gets assassinated. It turns out his killer, Dan White, was released from jail after five years, then killed himself. Sad all around.

It made me realize how far we’ve come, and yet how, at least where I live, there are still plenty of people who sound like descendants of Anita Bryant. It made me even angrier over Proposition 8 and other discriminatory laws passed in November.

And it made me long for the day when every gay man and woman can marry the person they love. That day is coming. It has to be. If I close my eyes, I can almost picture it.

See Milk, if you haven’t already. The Oscars are just a week away, and Sean Penn may well win Best Actor. Although I haven’t seen The Wrestler, and may not before Sunday, I kind of want Mickey Rourke to win. But we’ll see how I feel if/when I can see it.

As far as the pic that’s expected to sweep Sunday, I have yet to see Slumdog Millionaire. My fault for missing it in the five minutes it was here.

What Oscar-ish movies have you seen? Which ones were good, and what was overrated?

And keep checking back, because later this week, I really want to do an Oscar predictions post.

2 Comments

Filed under General Crap

2 responses to “Milk and the Lactose-Intolerant

  1. Amen, sister.

    And I haven’t seen any of the films. I suck. I never see any of the nominated films. I’ve been meaning to see Milk though. I was supposed to go with my (then) boyfriend but he dumped me before we got to go, so I never got around to it.

  2. AGreenEyeDevil

    Oh Lala, find a way to see Slumdog! I have to admit, I bought the ticket with ambivalence, but walked out smitten with the humanity of the story.

    As for Milk, I’m no fan of Penn’s but would like to see the movie for the importance of the story AND for James Franco. I adore James Franco!

Leave a Reply

