VF opts for dead people over Mad Men.

Vanityfair.com

Vanityfair.com

Well, I understand why they did it. Two very famous people died the same day (which also happened to be the day before my birthday, to make it all about me).

But, if at least one report is right, Vanity Fair was planning on slapping the cover of Mad Men on the September cover, which is also “The Style Issue.” Nothing against Farrah and Michael, but it feels a bit odd to see “The Style Issue” next to “FALLEN ANGEL” and “FALLEN KING.” Then, these two died, and well, they decided to ship out two covers.

I stopped subscribing to VF because it was boring me and annoying me, often simultaneously. Plus, I hate auto-renew and will do just about anything to avoid it. One exception was when I got a subscription to Entertainment Weekly for $10. They sent me a notice that they’re renewing it for a still-very-reasonable $20, but they think wrong, as I’ve gotten a new debit card since then. Muahaha. OK, </tangent.

As insufferably snobby as VF can be, I'll probably buy this issue (although hopefully the interviewer won't be as much of a jerk as whoever interviewed Jessica Simpson a few months back. If Bruce Handy starts calling Christina Hendricks fat, I'm pretty sure a few thousand men and women would be willing to defend her honor). Also, they never seemed to get that it was not a requirement to photograph all the female starlets in the strategically-placed buff. The same was never expected of the men, of course.

I just started watching Mad Men, finally, after months of admiring it without ever seeing more than a few minutes of it. I like it. It’s perhaps quieter than your normal TV show-no explosions or zany antics-but still quite enjoyable.

How does the cover change affect whether you will or won't buy VF? And which cover do you prefer? I'll probably look for the Farrah one, since I've seen enough Michael Jackson covers lately.

2 Comments

Filed under Books and Things You Read, News

2 responses to “VF opts for dead people over Mad Men.

  1. I’ll probably buy both, as I’m a nerd who buys commemorative magazines/newspapers and stores them in plastic bins.

  2. @Dorothy: Ha, don’t feel bad. I have a few post-election magazines stored on a shelf in my walk-in closet.

    As well as the VF with Tina Fey on the cover. Since I have a crush on her.

Leave a Reply

